• UAE leaders hail Tunisia, Morocco on World Cup qualification

      November 12, 2017    

    North African nations Morocco and Tunisia took contrasting routes Saturday as they qualified for the 2018 World Cup in Russia. They'll join Nigeria, Egypt and Senegal as the continent's five representatives at next year's tournament in Russia.

    Morocco sealed its place by winning in Ivory Coast 2-0 in what was a straight shootout for the place from Group C. Tunisia secured the draw it needed, 0-0 at home against Libya, to qualify from Group A and edge out Congo.Diving saves kept Youssef Msakni, Anice Badri and Ghilane Chaalani from scoring as Nashnush proved a one-man roadblock.

    Congratulatory messages poured out on social media after the team's victory. His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Vice-President and Prime Minister of the UAE and Ruler of Dubai; His Highness Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan, Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi and Deputy Supreme Commander of the UAE Armed Forces; and Sheikh Hamdan bin Mohammed bin Rashid Al Maktoum, Crown Prince of Dubai, have taken to Twitter to send their messages to the team.

    The qualification of Morocco and Tunisia signaled an apparent shift in African soccer, giving North Africa three teams at the World Cup and more than any other region for the first time since 1986.

    Meanwhile, multiple accidents on Sunday slowed down traffic on parts of Dubai's roads. According to a popular local traffic monitoring page on Twitter, accidents were reported on Sheikh Mohammed bin Zayed Road and Emirates Road towards Dubai causing added congestion to rush hour traffic.

    The 26 nations that have already booked their place for the 2018 World Cup in Russia, after Morocco and Tunisia qualified on Saturday:

    1. Europe: Belgium, England, Germany, Iceland, Poland, Russia (as hosts), Serbia, Spain, France, Portugal 2. Africa: Egypt, Nigeria, Senegal, Morocco, Tunisia 3. Asia: Iran, Japan, Saudi Arabia, South Korea 4. North, Central America and Caribbean: Costa Rica, Mexico, Panama 5. South America: Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina, Colombia The six remaining places will be decided by Wednesday, November 15. They will go to: - The four winners of the European play-offs: Croatia v Greece, Northern Ireland v Switzerland, Sweden v Italy, Denmark v Republic of Ireland - The two winners of intercontinental play-offs: Peru v New Zealand, Australia v Honduras. Source>>>

Apply For Loans & Credit Cards To UAE Banks

only for UAE

Social Media